Adrian Flux : 01553 845 945

The Toyota Landcruiser Owners Club
Landcruiser Club - Dedicated to Toyota Landcruiser, Amazon, Colorado and Prado Owners
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Watched TopicsWatched Topics   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your personal messagesLog in to check your personal messages   Log inLog in 
TLOCUK Club ShopClub Shop  TLOCUK Classified Ads serviceClassified Ads  dynamic online chat serviceChatrooms  Yellow Diamond ClubsYellow Diamond Clubs
TLOCUK HomeTLOCUK Home   TLOCUK ForumsTLOCUK Forums  Click here to link to the South African LandCruiser Owners Club websiteLCCSA  Click here to link to the Australian LandCruiser Owners OnLine website - possibly the longest established Land Cruiser club on the net!LCOOL  Click here to link to the IH8MUD website - run by extremely enthusiastic Land Cruiser owners, with a fantastic source of DIY information and useful forum!IH8MUD

no swr

Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Toyota Landcruiser Owners Club Forum Index -> Radio communications
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tractionman
***


Joined: 07 Apr 2007
Posts: 128
Location: Bournemouth, Dorset

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 16:13    Post subject: no swr Reply with quote

Hi all,hope someone can help with this one.recently installed cb setup,cb powers up,tx rx lights work when mike keyed channel change works,but cannot get any swr readings at all.double checked all connections, nothing but skip on all 40, ant. is centre load 24" mini mag have also tried 48"modulator ant with mag mount both direct to roof so should be good ground plane.cannot understand why no swr readings whatsoever.hopefully someone will!
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message
Google
Sponsor





PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 16:13    Post subject: Google Ads keep this community free to join!


Back to top
Crispin
*****


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 685
Location: Welham Green, Hertfordshire, England

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 17:21    Post subject: Reply with quote

is the meter not broken? If you wobble it, can you see the needle move?
Are you sure you are transmitting? Never mind the lights, someone confirmed they can hear you? Might have popped the tx
_________________
Cheers,
Crispin
Have Snorkel, Will Swim
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message Visit poster's website
RADIOTWO
*****


Joined: 18 Nov 2005
Posts: 723
Location: GLOSSOP

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 19:09    Post subject: Re: no swr Reply with quote

Tractionman wrote:
Hi all,hope someone can help with this one.recently installed cb setup,cb powers up,tx rx lights work when mike keyed channel change works,but cannot get any swr readings at all.double checked all connections, nothing but skip on all 40, ant. is centre load 24" mini mag have also tried 48"modulator ant with mag mount both direct to roof so should be good ground plane.cannot understand why no swr readings whatsoever.hopefully someone will!


Hi tractionman

There is so many things that could be a cause, but as chrispin says is a couple.

Have you got the correct meter, and is wired correctly ?

Please tell what meter you have, and how you have connected it.

And we can poss help

Radiotwo
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message
Tractionman
***


Joined: 07 Apr 2007
Posts: 128
Location: Bournemouth, Dorset

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 20:51    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for quick reply lads.meter is K-PO new from truck king and needle does move when meter wobbled so not stuck.wired as per instructions for ant. and cb.swapped around just in case wrong but still no swr reading.meter could be faulty i suppose but who knows. have emailed truck king, awaiting reply but one of those chicken and egg things i dont know if faulty and normally suppliers wont admit fault,we shall see! just thought it might be something down to me but keep those suggestions coming.thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message
garystockton
Lifetime member
Lifetime member


Joined: 17 Apr 2005
Posts: 1190
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 21:01    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same issue - make sure, if the radio is a 'European model' that you've got it switched to the UK frequencies - I hadn't  Embarassed

And it's on AM or FM or whatever it's supposed to be  Embarassed
_________________
I'll be more enthusiastic about encouraging thinking outside the box when there's evidence of any thinking going on inside it.
- Terry Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message
wildsmith
Lifetime member
Lifetime member


Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 1580
Location: Stourbridge, West Mids, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 21:05    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you got the top slide switch on FWD and the bottom one on PWR? Have you got your CB on a UK FM or Euro channel as e.g. a French AM channel probably wouldn't register anything either?
_________________
Jon m0zxj

01 UZJ100 lifted (AHC & 40mm BL), ARB locked f&r, cryo'd 4.88's, TJM front bumper, 12k goldfish, sliders, rack, snorkel, 35's, storage, aux power etc.
93 HDJ80 sold
94 HDJ80 RIP
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message Visit poster's website
Tractionman
***


Joined: 07 Apr 2007
Posts: 128
Location: Bournemouth, Dorset

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 23:07    Post subject: Reply with quote

the rig is a danita 240,. fm only.presume uk, has quality tested stamp in english on back. meter has calibration knob and fwd / ref switch.cannot seem to recieve anything,just loads of skip and no reply to anything out going.all this has got me going!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message
Tractionman
***


Joined: 07 Apr 2007
Posts: 128
Location: Bournemouth, Dorset

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 14:12    Post subject: Reply with quote

just found out there are two approved uk frequencies. C.E.P.T. 26.965-27.405 and U.K. 27-81,the former is E.U.band,but both for uk use. looks like the rig i have is not in popular use here and the reason i can get no swr is antenna is not compatable with this rigs frequency,what do you guys think? i am lost!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message
garystockton
Lifetime member
Lifetime member


Joined: 17 Apr 2005
Posts: 1190
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 14:16    Post subject: Reply with quote

Return the unit for a refund if you can and get one that you can work with?  Sorry, not much of an answer, I know ...
_________________
I'll be more enthusiastic about encouraging thinking outside the box when there's evidence of any thinking going on inside it.
- Terry Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message
RADIOTWO
*****


Joined: 18 Nov 2005
Posts: 723
Location: GLOSSOP

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 15:30    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tractionman wrote:
just found out there are two approved uk frequencies. C.E.P.T. 26.965-27.405 and U.K. 27-81,the former is E.U.band,but both for uk use. looks like the rig i have is not in popular use here and the reason i can get no swr is antenna is not compatable with this rigs frequency,what do you guys think? i am lost!!


Hi Again

You should still get some meter  movement ! even if it was on a piece of wet string,
but as Gary says return to store and get it sorted  

Radiotwo
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message
Tractionman
***


Joined: 07 Apr 2007
Posts: 128
Location: Bournemouth, Dorset

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 21:23    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for comments guys,tried with set up again today and on channel 26 picked up faint foreign chat! could be foreign truckers on nearby dual carraigeway?anyway still not much use.might as well forget trying for refund as would have to pay return shipping and if they say not faulty have to pay to get back.will get on to truck king again as no reply to my answer of what cb i have.i will have to find someone local with swr meter to try process of elimination,then i will know for sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message
Crispin
*****


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 685
Location: Welham Green, Hertfordshire, England

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 22:30    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would stop trying until you have a known good swr meter. If you have a short / open circuit in your coax, you'll be putting your transmitter through a world of pain.

Not sure if 27MHz will do it (I do not think so) but if you key a VHF radio next to a fluorescent bulb, it'll ignite. Was a "party trick" way to see if your radio is working.
_________________
Cheers,
Crispin
Have Snorkel, Will Swim
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message Visit poster's website
Tractionman
***


Joined: 07 Apr 2007
Posts: 128
Location: Bournemouth, Dorset

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2010 15:00    Post subject: no swr Reply with quote

Tried reconnecting setup today and i have swr.....got nice low readings after playing with antenna.dont know what happened,did nothing different than before!! still no tx/rx,though.i think its because of these two different wavebands in uk i spoke about before and i have got set with the waveband no one uses.dont know what else to think...perhaps wave the white flag on this one!
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message
RADIOTWO
*****


Joined: 18 Nov 2005
Posts: 723
Location: GLOSSOP

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2010 16:01    Post subject: Re: no swr Reply with quote

Tractionman wrote:
Tried reconnecting setup today and i have swr.....got nice low readings after playing with antenna.dont know what happened,did nothing different than before!! still no tx/rx,though.i think its because of these two different wavebands in uk i spoke about before and i have got set with the waveband no one uses.dont know what else to think...perhaps wave the white flag on this one!


How can you have a SWR with no TX ?

Radiotwo

PS You have a PM
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message
Tractionman
***


Joined: 07 Apr 2007
Posts: 128
Location: Bournemouth, Dorset

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2010 19:53    Post subject: no swr Reply with quote

sorry, what i meant was key mike and tx light comes on but get no replies for rig check on various channels, so am assuming i am not getting through?
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Toyota Landcruiser Owners Club Forum Index -> Radio communications All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


All contents © Hobson's Choice IT Solutions Ltd 1997 on
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group